top of page

Review - Gourette Ski Resort Review


Never heard of it? Nor had I? But I am so happy I heard about it. It was February time and I was as normal looking to get away for a snow fix. Luckily enough I had a connection through family who lives in Gourette during the winter time and we were invited out to join them. At first I was tentative. Sometimes I can be a bit of a snow snob. I was the same the first time I went to Bulgaria to ski, but since that trip I have enjoyed skiing in Bulgaria a few times. So I thought why not.


Our journey to Gourette began at London St Pancras where we were to take the Eurostar to Paris Charles De Gaulle before using the metro to change station until we could board the night train down to Pau. This was only my second time on a sleeper train and like the first I LOVED IT. Even with the cramped hard bunk beds (had a more comfy one in India) it made the journey feel like such an adventure. This is one of the reasons I remember this trip so fondly. However if sleeper trains are not your bag, Pau can easily be accessed from Airports at Biarritz and Lourdes. On our arrival in Pau we were met by our family friends and driven the 50KM drive up to Gourette where we were met with a charming mountain village. This village itself has a nice selection of shops, restaurants and a community sports centre which means there is something for everyone.

From a skiing perspective the 29 ski runs which would normally be limiting to anybody other than beginners or intermediates offered a number of off-piste routes to keep us occupied. Added to this the boarder cross and the terrain park gave some good options for the afternoons when the snow had become slushy in places. With pistes from 1400m to 2500m Gourette offers skiing from November through to April and is a great destination for a weekend ski trip from the UK.


Have you visited Gourette? I'd love to hear your opinion on this charming pyrenees ski resort. Contact me using the contact form or via the links to my social media.



Comments


©2018 by simonthego. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page